Lahti Historic Rally WRC FIA
Suomeksi In English En Français
Home > New Inductees to Rally Hall of Fame

New Inductees to Rally Hall of Fame

Walter Röhrl and Hannu Mikkola are the two new inductees to Rally Hall of Fame. They join in the Gallery four earlier honourees from last spring: Erik Carlsson, Paddy Hopkirk, Rauno Aaltonen and Timo Mäkinen.

Walter Röhrl was rallying´s first multiple world champion and is still the most successful German rallyman. His greatest acclaim to fame was winning Rally Monte Carlo four times in cars, which were built to completely different formats.Hannu Mikkola 1983

Hannu Mikkola was an all-rounder, a winner in one of the least powerful as well as one of the most powerful rally cars ever. He headed a new cosmopolitan generation Finnish rally drivers and had an extraordinarily long top-line career, reaching over four decades.

The Hall of Fame Gallery is located in Mobilia Museum´s premises in Kangasala, some 20 kilometres east of Tampere, where a celebration of the new inductees is to be held in May.

Rally Hall of Fame is an initiative of Finland´s Automobile Sport Federation and Mobilia, the country´s national speciality museum of the automobile and transport. Nominations to the Hall of Fame are made by an international Committee.

The members of the Committee are Kari O. Sohlberg (FASF Chairman), Michele Mouton (Manager of FIA World Rally Championship), Neil Duncanson (CEO of World Rally Championship promoter), Martin Holmes (journalist) and Pekka Honkanen (Director, Sports Museum Foundation of Finland).

The principle of Rally Hall of Fame is to host an exhibition celebrating the careers of new inductees and also to keep material in custody for posterity. This together with archive material will form a collection that keeps growing with new nominations. Rally Hall of Fame is projected as a global institution and will reflect worldwide achievement in the sport of rallying.

Julkaistu: 9.2.2011 16:35



Find us on Facebook